IND vs AUS: India 87 runs away from winning Border-Gavaskar Trophy

Rampant India took giant strides towards reclaiming the Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2016-17, in the fourth Test against Australia on Monday.

Umesh Yadav (center) and Bhuvneshwar Kumar provided India the edge on the third day

Rampant India took giant strides towards reclaiming the Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2016-17, in the fourth Test against Australia on Monday. A terrific display of fast bowling from Umesh Yadav and Bhuvneshwar Kumar knocked over the dangerous top-order, and the spinners took charge to dismantle the rest of the visiting batting line-up for an embarrassing 137 in the post lunch session.

Australia, who had done everything right so far to remain in contention till lunch on Day Three, suffered a batting collapse. In their reply, India were 19 for no loss needing another 87 runs to win the Test as well as the series.

Resuming at a perilous position of 92 for 5 in their second innings, Australia went deep into their shells and never recovered. The only batsmen who found runs against India in the second innings, Glenn Maxwell was dismissed off a tight umpire’s call when the batsman did not offer any shot and was trapped leg-before. Maxwell reviewed it, but the ball’s trajectory showed it was clipping the leg-stump. Pat Cummins got together with Matthew Wade to stonewall for most of the second session, and this is where Australia appeared to have surrendered the game to India.

Australia were bowled out for a mere 137, leaving India 106 to win the series. Australia began their attack with Pat Cummins, who went for three boundaries in the first over itself. KL Rahul, who has been in supreme form this series, resumed his battle with Cummins and got success right away.
Cummins and Wade added a mere 15 runs in a little over 15 overs in the final session to delay the inevitable.

However, Ravindra Jadeja’s brilliance broke that stubborn stand, and Umesh as well as Ashwin combined together to clean up the Australian tail.

Wade faced 90 balls and remained unbeaten on 25. However, he may cop some criticism for not looking for runs when there was still time, as he opened up only when Josh Hazlewood, the No. 10, joined him in the middle. At one stage, Wade had faced as many as 76 balls and had scored a mere 9 runs.
However, it was India all the way who grasped control of the game just when it mattered. India came out flying post lunch, and bowled with tremendous intensity and intent to utilise the new ball. David Warner and Matt Renshaw were removed after a flurry of short balls, but what perhaps made the biggest difference was a lucky but well-thought wicket of Steven Smith.

Smith pulled a short ball for a boundary and followed it up with a drive for another four, which prompted Bhuvneshwar to bowl another short ball. However, it was just a trick but got rich results, with Smith getting an inside edge that crashed into his wickets.

Brief scores:
Australia 300 (David Warner 56, Steven Smith 111, Matthew Wade 57; Kuldeep Yadav 4 for 68) & 137 (Glenn Maxwell 45; Umesh Yadav 3 for 29, Ravindra Jadeja 3 for 24, Ravichandran Ashwin 3 for 29) lead India 332 (KL Rahul 60, Cheteshwar Pujara 57, Ravindra Jadeja 63; Nathan Lyon 5 for 92) & 19 for no loss (KL Rahul 13*, Murali Vijay 6*) by 87 runs.


Leave a reply